Mushroom Fontina Pizza

Posted on March 27, 2008. Filed under: Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day, Whole Grain Conversion | Tags: , , |

Oh wow… is it wrong to be so impressed with yourself after cooking a meal? Because I was very happy with how this turned out. Very, very, very happy.

Mushroom Pizza I sauteed some sliced button mushrooms with a little olive oil, garlic and rosemary. I added a splash of white wine toward the end and let the moisture cook out. Then I grabbed a hunk of herbed dough from my trusty bucket in the fridge. I rolled out and set it on my pizza peel (on top of some cornmeal for flavor and texture more than as a means of friction, I used parchment paper to help slide the pizza from the peel to the baking stone).

I sprinkled some grated fontina on top of the dough, then I spread the sauteed mushrooms over the cheese and then added some more fontina on top of that. The pizza was slid into a 550° oven to bake for about 9 minutes. I pulled it out, sprinkled some chopped parsley on top, let it sit for just a couple minutes (so the cheese could set a little and so I could take some pictures). Then it was time to eat!

The slight nuttiness of the fontina went with the herbs in the mushrooms and the crust really well. The crust was awesome, perfect combo of crisp and chewy. I have never had as much luck with making homemade pizza as I have had since I started using the techniques in the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes book. Seriously, this book is a gold mine! I was a little sad when I received notification from the library today that my copy is due back soon. No worries, I already know that I’m going to buy the book.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Mushroom Fontina Pizza”

RSS Feed for GlossyVeneer Kitchen Comments RSS Feed

[...] Being way too impressed with my own cooking skills tonight. [...]

You have a cooking blog! Cool!

*adding you to my feed reader*

This recipe sounds absolutely delicious! I think that I will have to give it a shot tonight, after all Friday night is pizza night.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

