Herbed Artisan Bread

Posted on March 24, 2008. Filed under: Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day | Tags: , , |

Well, I’ve made my second batch of dough from the ‘Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes‘ book. I followed the base recipe again, added in some rosemary and thyme like the authors suggest as an alternative but I also decided to add some whole wheat flour.

I did a 50-50 blend, 50% was unbleached bread flour and 50% was freshly milled white whole wheat flour. I did increase the water content just a little bit as the whole wheat absorbs more liquid.

This bread was a totally RAWKIN’ success. It tasted so good, it has a great crispy crust and nice chewy interior. My husband and I devoured the whole loaf (although, in full interest of disclosure it was a smaller loaf, I didn’t take out quite as much dough).

Rosemary Loaf

After this, I have no need for that rosemary bread at Macaroni Grill, I can create something just as fantastic in my own home with the nutrition of some whole grains added.

This book might be my new love affair. I can’t wait to try making pizza on the herbed crust.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Herbed Artisan Bread”

RSS Feed for GlossyVeneer Kitchen Comments RSS Feed

[...] added a splash of white wine toward the end and let the moisture cook out. Then I grabbed a hunk of herbed dough from my trusty bucket in the fridge. I rolled out and set it on my pizza peel (on top of some [...]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

